State Historic Preservation Office
Guidelines for North Carolina's Certified Local Government Program*
III. Requirements for Certification
A. Eligibility

Any local government which meets the criteria set forth in this document is eligible to apply for certification.

The National Historic Preservation Amendments Act of 1980 contains five broad standards which must be met by a local government seeking certification. The local government must:

  • Enforce appropriate state or local legistlation for the designation and protection of historic properties.

  • Establish by local legistlation an adequate and qualified historic preservation review commission.

  • Maintain a system for the survey and inventory of historic properties.

  • Provide for adequate public participation in the local historic preservation program, including the process of recommending properties to the NRHP.

  • Satisfactorily perform the responsibilities delegated to it under the Act.

In addition to the federal criteria listed above each state may specify additional requirements. The minimum requirements for certification of local governments in North Carolina are outlined below.

* Reproduced for the City of Washington Department of Planning and Development Website from the January 1992 revision of this document.
Return to: [Home]  [Planning & Development]  [Historic Preservation]
[State Historic Preservation Office Documents]
[Certified Local Government Program Guidelines]